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BULLETIN NO.: MGR-13-001

TO: All Approved Insurance Providers
All Risk Management Agency Field Offices
All Other Interested Parties

FROM: Brandon C. Willis /s/ Brandon C. Willis 1-22-2013
Acting Administrator

SUBJECT: 2013 Crop Year Texas Citrus Fruit Claims

BACKGROUND:

Citrus processors in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas begin juice operations in December when
harvest commences and terminate in May when harvest ends. During this six month period,
market prices are readily available for settling claims on any damaged fruit. However, when
insured citrus fruit is damaged during the six month period when processors are idle, generally
June through November, market prices are unavailable for settling claims.

The provisions of Section 12(e) of the Texas Citrus Crop Provisions states that, “Where the
actuarial documents provide, and you elect, the fresh fruit option, citrus fruit that is not
marketable as fresh fruit due to insurable causes will be adjusted by: (1) Dividing the value per
ton of the damaged citrus by the price of undamaged citrus fruit; and (2) Multiplying the result
by the number of tons of such citrus fruit. The applicable price for undamaged citrus fruit will
be the local market price the week before damage occurred.” When the fresh fruit option is
elected and damaged fresh fruit is sold for juice processing, the juice price from the week before
damage occurred, if available, will be used to calculate claims for indemnity.

Approved Insurance Providers (AIPs) requested RMA to provide market prices for settling
claims for fruit damage that occurs when market prices are unavailable; otherwise, AIPs and
insureds have to wait until May 2014 for final market prices to settle pending claims.

ACTION:

Effective for the 2013 crop year, for the purposes of section 12(e) above, the applicable price per
ton for damaged Texas citrus fruit and the local market price per ton for citrus fruit will be the
prices in Table A and Table B, respectively.
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Value per Ton for Damaged Citrus Production. Use either option 1 or 2 as required by the policy
to determine the value per ton for damaged citrus production (juice price).

Option 1: Use the local market juice price per ton for oranges or grapefruit from area processors
as the price for damaged fresh fruit when such price becomes available May, 2014; or

Option 2: Use the orange or grapefruit juice price per ton in Table A as the price for damaged
fresh citrus production.

Table A

2013 Crop Year Texas Citrus Price Per Ton for
Damaged Citrus Production Sold for Juice

Citrus Crop Juice Price per Ton
All Oranges $84
All Grapefruit $56

If option 2 is elected, the policyholder must agree in writing to settle these claims using the
applicable juice price per ton from Table A. AlPs must retain this agreement in the
policyholder’s claim file.

Local Market Price per Ton for Fresh Citrus Fruit Production. The local market price per ton
for fresh Texas citrus will be the applicable price listed in Table B.

Table B
2013 Crop Year Texas Citrus Local Market Price per ton for
Fresh Citrus Production
Citrus Crop/Code Local Market Price per Ton
Early/Mid Oranges (0224) $456
Late Oranges (0225) $471
Rio Red & Star Ruby Grapefruit (0238) $523
Ruby Red Grapefruit (0228) $398
All Other Grapefruit (0226) $388

Calculate the amount of citrus fruit that is not marketable as fresh fruit and sold as juice by dividing
the applicable price for damaged production in Table A by the applicable market price in Table B;
and multiplying the result by the number of tons of such citrus fruit.

AlPs may settle 2013 Fresh Citrus Fruit claims as soon as practical following the issuance of this
Bulletin for those policyholders choosing Option 2. Policyholders must elect either Option 1 or
Option 2, consistent with Section 14 of the Basic Provisions, not later than 60 days after the end of
the insurance period.

DISPOSAL DATE:

May 31, 2014



