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BULLETIN NO.:  MGR-14-016 
 
 
TO: All Approved Insurance Providers 
 All Risk Management Agency Field Offices 
 All Other Interested Parties 
 
FROM: Brandon C. Willis               /s/ Brandon Willis                    10/28/2014 
 Administrator 

SUBJECT: 2015 Crop Year Texas Citrus Fruit Claims 

 
BACKGROUND: 
 
Citrus processors in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas begin juice operations in December when 
harvest commences and terminate in May when harvest ends.  When insured citrus fruit is 
damaged during this six month period, market prices are readily available for settling claims.  
When insured citrus fruit is damaged during the six month period when processors are idle, 
generally June through November, market prices are unavailable for settling claims. 
 
The provisions of Section 12(e) of the Texas Citrus Fruit Crop Provisions states that, “Where 
the actuarial documents provide, and you elect, the fresh fruit option, citrus fruit that is not 
marketable as fresh fruit due to insurable causes will be adjusted by: (1) Dividing the value per 
ton of the damaged citrus by the price of undamaged citrus fruit; and (2) Multiplying the result 
by the number of tons of such citrus fruit.  The applicable price for undamaged citrus fruit will 
be the local market price the week before damage occurred.”  When citrus fruit policyholders 
elect the fresh fruit option and sell the damaged fresh fruit for juice processing, such juice price 
from the week before damage occurred, if available, will be used to calculate claims for 
indemnity. 
 
Approved Insurance Providers (AIPs) requested RMA to provide market prices for settling 
claims for fruit damage that occurs when market prices are unavailable; otherwise, AIPs and 
policyholders would have to wait until May 2016 for the final market prices to settle pending 
claims. 
 
ACTION: 
 
Effective for the 2015 crop year for the purposes of section 12(e) above, the applicable price 
per ton for damaged Texas citrus fruit and the local market price per ton for citrus fruit will be 
the prices in Table A and Table B, respectively. 
 
 
  

USDA is an Equal Opportunity Employer and Provider 



BULLETIN NO.: MGR-14-016  Page 2 
 

Value per Ton for Damaged Citrus Production.  Use either option 1 or 2 as required by the 
policy to determine the value per ton for damaged citrus production (juice price). 
 

Option 1:  Use the local market juice price per ton for oranges or grapefruit from area 
processors as the price for damaged fresh fruit when such price becomes available May 
2016; or 
 
Option 2:  Use the orange or grapefruit juice price per ton in Table A as the price for 
damaged fresh citrus production. 

 
Table A: 

2015 Crop Year Texas Citrus Price Per Ton  
for Damaged Citrus Production Sold for Juice 

Citrus Crop Juice Price per Ton 
All Oranges $76 

All Grapefruit $53 
 
If option 2 is selected, the policyholder must agree in writing to settle these claims using the 
applicable juice price per ton from Table A.  AIPs must retain this agreement in the 
policyholder’s claim file. 

 
Local Market Price per Ton for Fresh Citrus Fruit Production.  The local market price per 
ton for fresh Texas citrus will be the applicable price listed in Table B. 
 

Table B: 
2015 Crop Year Texas Citrus Local Market Price per ton  

for Fresh Citrus Production 
Citrus Crop/Code Local Market Price per Ton 

Early/Mid Oranges (0224) $539 
Late Oranges (0225) $534 
Rio Red & Star Ruby Grapefruit (0238) $599 
Ruby Red Grapefruit (0228) $439 
All Other Grapefruit (0226) $429 
 
Calculate the amount of citrus fruit that is not marketable as fresh fruit and sold as juice by 
dividing the applicable price for damaged production in Table A by the applicable market price 
in Table B; and multiplying the result by the number of tons of such citrus fruit. 
 
AIPs may settle 2015 Fresh Texas Citrus Fruit claims as soon as practical following the 
issuance of this Bulletin for those policyholders choosing Option 2.  Policyholders must elect 
either Option 1 or Option 2 consistent with Section 14 of the Basic Provisions, not later than 60 
days after the end of the insurance period. 
 
DISPOSAL DATE: 
 
May 31, 2016 


