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BULLETIN NO.:  MGR-15-010 
 
 
TO: All Approved Insurance Providers 
 All Risk Management Agency Field Offices 
 All Other Interested Parties 
 
FROM: Brandon C. Willis      /s/ Brandon Willis  12/8/2015 
 Administrator 

SUBJECT: 2016 Crop Year Texas Citrus Fruit Claims 

 
BACKGROUND: 
 
Processing of citrus juice in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas generally begins in December 
when harvest commences, and terminates in May when harvest ends.  When insured citrus fruit 
is damaged during this six month period, market prices are generally available for settling 
claims.  When insured citrus fruit is damaged during the six month period when processing of 
citrus juice is not in operation, generally June through November, market prices are unavailable 
for settling claims.  Risk Management Agency (RMA) provides market prices for settling 
claims for fruit damage that occurs when market prices are unavailable. 
 
 
The provisions of Section 12(e) of the Texas Citrus Fruit Crop Provisions states that, “Where 
the actuarial documents provide, and you elect, the fresh fruit option, citrus fruit that is not 
marketable as fresh fruit due to insurable causes will be adjusted by: (1) Dividing the value per 
ton of the damaged citrus by the price of undamaged citrus fruit; and (2) Multiplying the result 
by the number of tons of such citrus fruit.  The applicable price for undamaged citrus fruit will 
be the local market price the week before damage occurred.”  When citrus fruit policyholders 
elect the fresh fruit option and sell the damaged fresh fruit for juice processing, the juice price 
from the week before damage occurred, if available, will be used to calculate claims for 
indemnity. 
 
ACTION: 
 
Effective for the 2016 crop year for the purposes of section 12(e) of the Texas Citrus Fruit Crop 
Provisions, the applicable price per ton for damaged Texas citrus fruit and the local market 
price per ton for citrus fruit will be the prices in Table A and Table B, respectively. 
 
Value per Ton for Damaged Citrus Production.  Use either option 1 or 2 as required by the 
policy to determine the value per ton for damaged citrus production (juice price). 
 

Option 1:  Use the local market juice price per ton from the week before damage occurred 
for oranges or grapefruit from the area processor as the price for damaged fresh fruit when 
such price is available; or 
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Option 2:  Use the orange or grapefruit juice price per ton in Table A as the price for 
damaged fresh citrus production. 

 
Table A: 

2016 Crop Year Texas Citrus Price Per Ton  
for Damaged Citrus Production Sold for Juice 

Citrus Crop Juice Price per Ton 
All Oranges $70 

All Grapefruit $49 
 
If option 2 is selected, the policyholder must agree in writing to settle these claims using the 
applicable juice price per ton from Table A.  AIPs must retain this agreement in the 
policyholder’s claim file. 

 
Local Market Price per Ton for Fresh Citrus Fruit Production.  The local market price per 
ton for fresh Texas citrus will be the applicable price listed in Table B. 
 

Table B: 
2016 Crop Year Texas Citrus Local Market Price per ton  

for Fresh Citrus Production 
Citrus Crop/Code Local Market Price per Ton 

Early/Mid Oranges (0224) $632 
Late Oranges (0225) $617 
Rio Red & Star Ruby Grapefruit (0238) $609 
Ruby Red Grapefruit (0228) $424 
All Other Grapefruit (0226) $414 

 
Calculate the amount of citrus fruit that is not marketable as fresh fruit and sold as juice by 
dividing the applicable price for damaged production in Table A by the applicable market price 
in Table B; and multiplying the result by the number of tons of such citrus fruit. 
 
AIPs may settle 2016 Fresh Texas Citrus Fruit claims as soon as practical following the 
issuance of this bulletin for those policyholders choosing Option 2.  Policyholders must elect 
either Option 1 or Option 2 consistent with Section 14 of the Basic Provisions, not later than 60 
days after the end of the insurance period. 
 
DISPOSAL DATE: 
 
May 31, 2017 


