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BULLETIN NO.:  MGR-16-009 
 
 
TO: All Approved Insurance Providers 
 All Risk Management Agency Field Offices 
 All Other Interested Parties 
 
FROM: Brandon C. Willis    /s/ Brandon Willis                      11/29/2016 
 Administrator 

SUBJECT: 2017 Crop Year Texas Citrus Fruit Claims 

 
BACKGROUND: 
 
Processing of citrus juice in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas generally begins in December 
when harvest commences and terminates in May when harvest ends.  When insured citrus 
fruit is damaged from December through May, market prices are generally available for 
settling claims.  Market prices are generally unavailable for settling claims when insured 
citrus fruit is damaged from June through November and citrus juice processing is not in 
operation.  The Risk Management Agency (RMA) provides market prices for settling 
claims for fruit damage that occurs when market prices are unavailable. 
 
Section 12(e) of the Texas Citrus Fruit Crop Provisions (00-226) states that, “Where the 
actuarial documents provide, and you elect, the fresh fruit option, citrus fruit that is not 
marketable as fresh fruit due to insurable causes will be adjusted by: (1) Dividing the value 
per ton of the damaged citrus by the price of undamaged citrus fruit; and (2) Multiplying 
the result by the number of tons of such citrus fruit.  The applicable price for undamaged 
citrus fruit will be the local market price the week before damage occurred.”  When citrus 
fruit policyholders elect the fresh fruit option and sell the damaged fresh fruit for juice 
processing, the juice price from the week before damage occurred, if available, will be used 
to calculate claims for indemnity. 
 
ACTION: 
 
Effective for the 2017 crop year, for the purposes of section 12(e) of the Texas Citrus Fruit 
Crop Provisions (00-226), the applicable price per ton for damaged Texas citrus fruit and 
the local market price per ton for citrus fruit will be the prices in Table A and Table B, 
respectively. 
 
Value per Ton for Damaged Citrus Production.  Use either option 1 or 2 as required by 
the policy to determine the value per ton for damaged citrus production (juice price). 
 

Option 1:  Use the local market juice price per ton from the week before damage 
occurred for oranges or grapefruit from the area processor as the price for damaged 
fresh fruit when such price is available; or 
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Option 2:  Use the orange or grapefruit juice price per ton in Table A as the price for 
damaged fresh citrus production. 
 

Table A.  2017 Crop Year Texas Citrus  
Price Per Ton for Damaged Citrus Production Sold for Juice 

Citrus Crop Juice Price per Ton 
All Oranges $70 

All Grapefruit $49 
 
If Option 2 is selected, the policyholder must agree in writing to settle claims using the 
applicable juice price per ton from Table A.  AIPs must retain this agreement in the 
policyholder’s claim file. 

 
Local Market Price per Ton for Fresh Citrus Fruit Production.  The local market price 
per ton for fresh Texas citrus will be the applicable price listed in Table B. 
 

Table B.  2017 Crop Year Texas Citrus  
Local Market Price Per Ton for Fresh Citrus Production 

Citrus Crop/Code Local Market Price per Ton 
Early/Mid Oranges (0224) $597 
Late Oranges (0225) $582 
Rio Red & Star Ruby Grapefruit (0238) $630 
Ruby Red Grapefruit (0228) $445 
All Other Grapefruit (0226) $435 

 
Calculate the amount of citrus fruit that is not marketable as fresh fruit and sold as juice by 
dividing the applicable price (using either Option 1 or Option 2) for damaged production by 
the applicable market price in Table B; and multiplying the result by the number of tons of 
such citrus fruit. 
 
AIPs may settle 2017 Fresh Texas Citrus Fruit claims as soon as practical following the 
issuance of this bulletin for those policyholders choosing Option 2.  Policyholders must 
elect either Option 1 or Option 2 consistent with Section 14 of the Basic Provisions, not 
later than 60 days after the end of the insurance period. 
 
DISPOSAL DATE: 
 
May 31, 2018 


