2016 MINNESOTA ACTUARIAL UPDATE

11/30 FILING

11/30 MN Crops/Programs: Combo Barley, APH Buckwheat, Combo Canola, Combo/ARPI Corn, Combo Dry Beans, APH Dry Peas, APH Flax, Dollar Forage Seeding, APH Green Peas, YBD Hybrid Corn Seed, APH Oats, Combo/ARPI Popcorn, APH Potatoes, APH Processing Beans, Combo/ARPI Soybeans, APH Sugar Beets, Combo Sunflowers, APH Sweet Corn, Combo/ARPI Wheat

COUNTY CROP EXPANSION: None

COUNTY CROP DELETIONS:

- BARLEY: Program deleted from Cottonwood, Hennepin, Le Sueur, and Rock Counties.
- BUCKWHEAT: Program deleted from Freeborn and Todd Counties.
- CANOLA: Program deleted from Becker, Clay, Grant, Hubbard, Otter Tail, Traverse, and Wilkin Counties.
- POPCORN: Program deleted from Blue Earth and Renville Counties.

DATES: No changes

RATES:

- Rate review completed for DRY BEANS, DRY PEAS, FORAGE SEEDING, and SUNFLOWERS with new target rates established.
- Removed high risk add-on rate for the irrigated practice for all crops in Wright County.

STATEMENTS:

- CANOLA: Special Provisions statement added that allows cultivars of Brassica carinata to be eligible for insurance under the Canola and Rapeseed Crop Provisions, but only by written agreement.
- DRY BEANS: Changed the white kidney type variety statement by adding the variety Snowdon to the list of approved varieties.
- SUGAR BEETS: Revised a Special Provisions statement in all southern counties pertaining to the clamp statement. Beets stored in clamps must be delivered to processor the earlier of seven days after clamp started, or calendar date for end of insurance period. If not, they will be considered undamaged.
- SPOI statement added to all counties/crops that explains producers who started farming after June 1, 2015 but prior to July 1, 2015 (beginning of reinsurance year) may be eligible for the premium subsidy without having form AD-1026 on file with FSA on or before June 1, 2015.
- Conservation Compliance cancellation statement was added to the Special Provisions in all counties/crops.
- The new breaking SPOI statement has been modified to include references regarding how native sod and non-native sod new breaking will be different for APH purposes.

TYPES/PRACTICES:

- CORN:
 - ➤ Silage: Added to Big Stone, Brown, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock, and Yellow Medicine Counties.
- WHEAT: Changed insurable wheat type from No Type Specified 997 to Spring 012. NOTE: Any producer who previously insured durum wheat under the 997 type will need a written agreement to insure durum in 2016.

T-YIELDS:

- T-yield review completed for DRY BEANS, DRY PEAS, and SUNFLOWERS.
- T-yields established for silage type CORN in the 15 counties that have the added type.

MAPS: No changes

OTHER:

- The discount factors have been changed for crops with quality adjustment shown on the SPOIs.
- New MALTING BARLEY ENDORSEMENT has replaced the Malting Barley Price and Quality Endorsement in all counties where the MB P&Q Endorsement was previously available.

- The Supplemental Coverage Option (SCO) will be added for the additional crops of CANOLA, DRY BEANS, GREEN PEAS, HYBRID CORN SEED, OATS, POTATOES, PROCESSING BEANS, SUNFLOWERS, AND SWEET CORN in all counties where the program is available. The following link will show all counties and crops that have SCO: http://prodwebnlb.rma.usda.gov/apps/MapViewer/index.html
- The 80% and 85% coverage levels were added for OATS and POTATOES.
- Yield Exclusion (YE) option has been added to more crops. Most spring planted crops will have at least a few
 counties with one year or more qualifying for yield exclusion. The following link will show all counties and crops
 with Yield Exclusion available: http://prodwebnlb.rma.usda.gov/apps/MapViewer/index.html
- Trend Adjustment (TA) option added to these crops for the first time in 2016:
 - ➤ BARLEY in 15 counties: Beltrami, Clay, Douglas, Kittson, Marshall, Morrison, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Roseau, Stearns, Todd, Wabasha, and Wadena.
 - > DRY BEANS in eight counties: Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Polk, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, and Wadena.
 - ➤ SUGAR BEETS in 24 of the 32 counties: Becker, Chippewa, Clay, Grant, Kandiyohi, Kittson, McLeod, Mahnomen, Marshall, Meeker, Norman, Otter Tail, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin, Yellow Medicine,

NOTE: This is not an official document.

December 10, 2015