

Department of Agriculture	July 23, 2007	
Risk Management Agency	INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM	
Spokane Washington Regional Office	TO:	All Approved Insurance Providers All Other Interested Parties
11707 E Sprague Ave Suite 201 Spokane Valley, WA 99206-6125	FROM:	Dave P. Paul /s/ <i>Dave P. Paul</i> Director
509 228-6320 FAX 509 228-6321	SUBJECT:	Mint Crop Insurance Program and Written Unit Agreements for 2008
	Mint is now eligible for written agreements due to the regulatory conversion of the Mint crop insurance program. Included below are instructions for categorizing mint with regard to Written Unit Agreements (WUA).	

The (FCIC 24020) Written Agreement Handbook (WAH) distinguishes special unit agreements that are based upon topographical / irrigation features into two groups: Annual crops and perennial crops (tree, vine, and bush crops designated as Category C in the CIH). The WAH stipulates in Section 5 A (2) (e) <u>3</u> that Category B perennial crops of Forage Production and Sugarcane are grouped with other annual crops. The 2008 Mint Underwriting Guidelines (PM-07-028) clarify Mint as a Category B crop, therefore, this crop is most appropriately grouped with other "annual crops" when a policyholder is eligible for a written unit agreement.

Approved counties for 2008 with Mint crop insurance coverage include:

- Idaho: Ada, Canyon, Elmore, Owyhee, and Payette;
- Oregon: Benton, Crook, Klamath, Lane, Linn, Malheur, Marion, Umatilla, and Union;
- Washington: Adams, Benton, Franklin, Grant and Yakima.

Insurance Providers should review the policies with WUA in the counties identified above (for 2008) and notify this office if mint needs to be added. In those cases where notified, we will amend the crop list associated with the respective WUA. This will ensure the unit agreement extends to mint when the policyholder purchases an eligible coverage level. Please provide this listing of policyholders and their respective agreement number to the address above, or to Jonathan.Burcham@rma.usda.gov

