

### **United States Department of Agriculture**

Farm and Foreign Agricultural Services Risk Management Agency

## INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM

TO:	All Risk Management Agency Field Offices All Other Interested Parties		
FROM:	Kenneth D. Ackerman Administrator	/s/ Ken Ackerman	11-9-00
SUBJECT:	Dairy Options Pilot Program Round III Counties and Program Changes		

## **ISSUE:**

Announcing the selection of the States and counties for Round III of the Dairy Options Pilot Program (DOPP) and the selected changes in the pilot, as recommended by the Risk Management Agency (RMA).

# **BACKGROUND**:

Milk prices are more volatile than ever and many dairy producers feel they have few alternatives when it comes to risk management. To address those concerns, RMA launched an innovative cost-share program in selected States and counties in 1999 that provided dairy farmers an opportunity to learn about hedging milk prices through hands-on options trading called the Dairy Options Pilot Program (DOPP). Section 191 of the Federal Agriculture Improvement and Reform (FAIR) Act of 1996 limited the operation of option pilot programs to not more than 100 counties. Round I of DOPP was operated in thirty-eight counties in seven States. Round II was operated in sixty-one counties in thirty-two States.

Section 134 of the Agricultural Risk Protection Act of 2000 (the 2000 Act) amended Section 191 of FAIR. In doing so, an expansion of eligible pilot counties in an options pilot program to a maximum of 300 is now authorized, except that no more than 25 counties may be in any one State. The 2000 Act also authorized funds of the Commodity Credit Corporation (CCC) up to \$9 million in Fiscal Year (FY) 2001; \$15 million in FY 2002; and \$2 million in FY 2003 for options pilot programs. Moreover, Congress in the Senate Appropriations Committee Report Language directed RMA to offer DOPP in selected counties for more than one year, and to allow producers in these counties to participate multiple times.



1400 Independence Ave., SW • Stop 0801 • Washington, DC 20250-0805

The Risk Management Agency Administers and Oversees All Programs Authorized Under the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation

# INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM

Recent developments that affect DOPP include:

- Continued low milk prices
- Federal Milk Marketing Order Reform
  - Discontinued use of the Basic Formula Price (BFP) in Federal Milk Marketing Orders.
  - Use of the higher of Class III or Class IV prices in pricing other classes in Federal Milk Marketing Orders.
- Passage and signing of the 2000 Act.
- A vote by the New York Board of Trade (NYBOT) at its June 14, 2000, Board meeting to phase out trading in its dairy futures and options markets.
- Decisions of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME) to:
  - Replace BFP futures and options contracts with contracts based on Class III milk.
  - Offer Class IV milk futures and options.
- Liquidity in the markets for Class III futures and options and Class IV futures and options contracts on the CME has increased dramatically.

# **DISCUSSION**:

A listing of the 275 counties and 39 States selected as pilot counties for DOPP Round III by RMA, as authorized by the 2000 Act, is attached as Exhibit 1. An additional 25 counties will be chosen by the Secretary of Agriculture for implementation during fiscal year (FY) 2002. Counties from Rounds I and II are included in the total because DOPP will continue to operate in these counties, as directed by Congress. Recommendations of States and counties came from analyses by RMA's Regional Office (RO) personnel and University extension specialists. The major factors considered in these recommendations were:

- Number of dairy producers,
- Pounds of milk produced, and
- County-level extension support.

RMA will also make several changes to DOPP based on feedback from Round II. These include:

- Allow additional time for the producer to return the completed application to RMA.
- Allow producers the flexibility of using either Class III or Class IV markets.
- Allow producers in the selected counties the ability to participate more than one time in DOPP. This would permit RMA to offer DOPP up to three times in a county, including those counties selected for Rounds I and II.

# **DISPOSAL DATE**:

This informational memorandum does not change existing policy or procedure and is for the purpose of transmitting information. The expiration date is December 31, 2001.

## INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM

#### 275 DOPP Round III Counties: State County Illinois Arizona Clinton \*\* Maricopa \*\* Effingham Jo Daviess Arkansas Van Buren McHenry Washington Stephenson Washington \*\* California Fresno Indiana Glenn Allen Elkhart \*\* Humboldt Kings \* Lagrange Marshall \*\* Madera Marin \*\* Noble Merced \* Riverside Iowa Sacramento Allamakee San Bernardino\* Bremer San Joaquin \* Buchanan Sonoma \*\* Chickasaw Stanislaus \* Clayton \*\* Tulare \* Delaware Dubuque \*\* Colorado Fayettte Weld \*\* Howard Jackson Delaware Sioux Winneshiek \*\* Kent Florida Kansas Gilchrist \*\* Nemaha \*\* Okeechobee \*\* Reno Georgia Kentucky Morgan \*\* Adair \*\* Putnam \*\* Barren \*\* Fleming Idaho Green Bingham Hart Canyon Lincoln Franklin Marion Gooding \*\* Mason Jerome \*\* Metcalfe Twin Falls \*\* Nelson Pulaski Shelby

Louisiana Tangipahoa Washington Maryland Carroll \*\* Frederick \*\* Garrett Washington Massachusetts Franklin \*\* Michigan Allegan \*\* Barry Clinton \*\* Gratiot Huron Ingham Ionia Isabella Kent Lapeer Mecosta Missaukee Montcalm Newaygo Osceola Ottawa Sanilac \*\* Shiawassee Tuscola Minnesota Becker Benton Brown Carver Douglas Fillmore \*\* Goodhue \* Houston Kandiyohi McLeod Meeker Mille Lacs

Morrison \*

# Otter Tail \* Pine Pope Rice Scott Sibley Stearns \* Todd \* Wabasha \*\* Winona Wright Mississippi Walthall Missouri Barry Douglas Greene

Howell Laclede Lawrence Newton Ozark Polk Texas Webster \*\* Wright \*\* Nebraska Cedar Gage \*\*

Churchill

New Jersey Salem Warren

### New Mexico Chaves \*\* Lea \*\* Roosevelt \*\*

## Exhibit 1

Minnesota (Cont.)

Olmsted

### **INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM**

275 DOPP Round III Counties:

State County **New York** Allegany Cattaraugus Cayuga Chautauqua \* Chenango Clinton Cortland Delaware Franklin Herkimer Jefferson \* Lewis \* Madison \*\* Montgomery Oneida \* Onondaga Oswego Otsego Schoharie St. Lawrence \* Steuben \* Washington Wyoming \*\* Yates North Carolina Iredell \* North Dakota Emmons Morton Ohio Ashland Ashtabula \*\* Auglaize Carroll Columbiana Coshocton Darke Holmes Knox Logan Mahoning Medina Mercer \*\* Richland

Ohio (Cont.) Shelby Stark Trumbull Tuscarawas Wayne \*\* Oklahoma Adair \*\* Mayes \*\* Oregon Marion \*\* Washington \*\* Pennsylvania Bedford Berks \* Blair Bradford \* Butler Centre Chester \*

Crawford \* Cumberland Erie Favette Franklin \* Huntingdon Juniata Lancaster \* Lawrence Lebanon \*\* Mercer Perry Somerset Susquehanna Tioga \*\* Union Westmoreland York

## South Dakota

Brookings Codington Day Deuel \*\* Grant \*\* Turner Tennessee Greene Marshall McMinn \*\* Washington Texas Archer \*\* Comanche Erath Hopkins \* Johnson \* Van Zandt Wood \* Utah Box Elder Cache \*\* Millard Utah \*\* Weber Vermont Addison \* Caledonia \* Franklin \* Orange \* Orleans Rutland \* Washington \*\* Virginia Augusta Franklin \*\* Rockingham \*\* Washington King Skagit \*\* Snohomish \*\* Whatcom \*\* Yakima Wisconsin Barron \*\* Brown

**Buffalo** 

Clark \*

Chippewa \*

### Dane \* Dodge Dunn Fond du Lac Grant \* Green Iowa Kewaunee Lafayette Manitowoc Marathon \* Monroe Outagamie Sauk Shawano \*\* Tavlor Trempealeau Vernon \* Waupaca Wood

Wisconsin (Cont.)

\* Round I County \*\* Round II County

Exhibit 1